Skip to content

University Challenge: Emmanuel vs. Manchester

April 4, 2010

The second semi-finals saw Uni of Manchester go up against Emmanuel College, Cambridge. Both teams lost an earlier match and had to win back in in the quarters; these are also two teams I’ve had my eye on from the start of the competition.

To the surprise of myself, Paxman and evidently themselves, Emmanuel crushed Manchester by 315 points to 120, due in no small part to the encyclopedic knowledge of captain Alex Guttenplan. (Seriously. “Diplomatic incidents of the late 19th and early 20th century”? I might expect a modern historian to know that, but a natural scientist?)

I scored 220, 170 without unstartered bonuses. I was a little pissed off about the ‘translate these Latin mottos of football clubs and name the clubs’ round, mainly because while I can translate basic Latin on the fly I know sod-all about football. Also because I know my dad told me all of those once upon a time and I have totally forgotten.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Skinner permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:16 am

    I think that was the episode that contained the questions about web comics. Aced that round 🙂
    Alas, I fear that’s also the reason I suck at all the other rounds.

  2. wickedday permalink
    April 4, 2010 11:15 am

    It was! I got Ctrl+Alt+Del, but don’t know enough about the other two.

Leave a Reply

