Skip to content

University Challenge: Manchester vs. King’s

December 27, 2009

This week: Uni of Manchester taking on King’s College, London. King’s lost heavily, getting down to -10 before getting a question right and finally losing by 90 points to 220. I scored 190, 135 without unanswered starters; bit of an off day.

This week I know about:
– Jane Austen’s heroines;
– skunks;
– ten-letter anagrams;
– ‘planetary arithmetic’ (whereby Earth + Venus = Mars)

This week I completely failed to know about:
– bees;
– Salvador Dali’s full name;
– capacitors
– ‘planetary arithmetic’ (whereby Earth + Venus = Jupiter

2 Comments leave one →
  1. knightofthedropdowntable permalink*
    December 29, 2009 1:47 pm

    I’m more annoyed that I failed at capacitors, we spent a couple weeks studying them in one of my 1st year modules. The names were also quite long and ridiculous, especially Picasso’s. the planetary artihmetic was fun though, and I think you’ll find Earth + Venus = Jupiter…

  2. wickedday permalink
    December 29, 2009 2:34 pm

    . . . so, I’m an idiot. Fixed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

